Sharon - YOUR GRACE.
2 min readFeb 16, 2023
Photo by Rajat Kashyap on Unsplash

GATED SANDS.

Traveling to the middle east wasn’t on my bucket list but it just happened. Arriving in Iran was one of those moments where you are asking yourself, 'what in the world have I done?’

Covered in the entire black glory- sorry, attire was discomforting to say the least. The harsh weather and the stiff movement of my legs was the icing on the seven- tier cake. The Airport’s glass doors swished open as I stepped out with my luggage.

A man swiftly approached me with a metallic smile given only to precious clients and showed me his ride. Speaking in his dialect, I could only make out he is a taxi driver trying to tell me he can take me to my destination with ease. I smiled sadly to myself… ‘Great! He doesn’t speak English.' I muttered to myself.

I took out a note pad and wrote the name of my hotel and showed it to him. He quickly nodded in understanding. “I can take you there.” He said in English. I guess good things come to those who wait and I saw it first hand as we drove into the capital of Iran — Tehran.

Photo by Manuel Moreno on Unsplash

Espinas Palace Hotel was my destination and it was not a bad bribe looking at the view. Ohhh!

Checking in, settling in and finally sipping a drink as I overlooked the desert was a view I will take again and again. But…it was a bit unsettling.

Of all the branches those mother… could take me to, they chose Iran of all places. Telling a Nigerian, Iran is peaceful and a way to make billions is telling a fauna to go cozy with tigers because they will protect you from harm.

After series of fasting, prayers and even assurances from God, I packed my bags and now I am here.

One of the new directors at Iran Khodro Co, dealers in auto parts and fast loving cars. Amen somebody!

My plan was to stay in the hotel already paid for and on Monday, the team will arrange a far better and permanent accommodation to my liking.

Taking a shower and finally about to settle in for a nice sleep, I heard a knock on the door. Strange! Room service was here already and I wasn’t expecting visitors.

I sighed and pleaded the blood of Jesus before walking to the door.